Skip to main content

DisclosureWe earn commission on partner links. Read policy

HealthVetted

NooCube Brain Productivity review: is it worth it?

NooCube is a stimulant-free 13-ingredient nootropic built around Bacopa monnieri, Alpha-GPC, L-tyrosine, L-theanine, Cat's Claw, Oat Straw and the patented Lutemax 2020 lutein/zeaxanthin complex. It targets focus, memory and mental clarity, is one of the cheaper blends per serving on bundles, and carries a 60-day money-back guarantee.

by HealthVetted Editorial Backed by 4 sourcesWritten Reviewed Updated
On this page
6.6
/ 10 score

Worth it as a low-cost, low-risk first try

4
sources cited
6
axes scored
$0
paid placement
Independent. We sell nothing we review — affiliate links never change our scores.

Worth it as a low-cost, low-risk first try

The 60-day guarantee means you can run it for weeks and still get your money back if it does nothing, which is rare in this category. You are accepting partial dose disclosure and no whole-formula trial in exchange for the lowest price among the blends. For a first nootropic on a budget, that is a fair deal. Individual results vary.

Check price →From $64.99
  • No prescription required

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our score. How we make money

6.6
HealthVetted Score
4 sources reviewed·6-axis scoring·Last verified May 30, 2026
How NooCube Brain Productivity scores
EffectivenessModerate5.5/10
SafetyModerate7.5/10
ValueModerate7.0/10
AccessibilityModerate6.0/10
User experienceModerate7.5/10
TrustModerate6.0/10
Pros
  • Caffeine-free formula built on evidence-backed ingredients like Bacopa monnieri (250mg) and L-theanine
  • Best value of the blends on bundles, dropping to roughly $39 per bottle with a 60-day money-back guarantee
  • Simple 2-capsule daily dose and includes the patented Lutemax 2020 for eye-brain support
Cons
  • Does not disclose milligram doses for every ingredient, so total active potency is partly unknown
  • No clinical trial on the finished NooCube formula; evidence is per-ingredient only
  • Sold almost entirely direct-to-consumer with little third-party retail or independent verification

In-depth review

Ready to look at NooCube Brain Productivity? From $64.99Check price →

What is NooCube and who makes it?

NooCube is a daily nootropic ("smart drug") supplement sold under the "Brain Productivity" name. It's a dietary supplement, not a drug — it has not been evaluated or approved by the FDA for treating, curing, or preventing any condition, and like all supplements in the U.S. it falls under the DSHEA framework, meaning the manufacturer (not the FDA) is responsible for substantiating its claims and safety before sale (FDA).

The product is marketed by Wolfson Brands (UK) Limited, a Glasgow-based company behind a portfolio of direct-to-consumer supplements. NooCube is sold almost exclusively through its own website rather than third-party retailers or pharmacies. That direct-sales model is worth flagging up front: it concentrates the available "reviews" on pages the seller controls or affiliates profit from, which is precisely the kind of conflict an independent reader should discount.

The formula has been reformulated more than once. The current "Brain Productivity 3.0" label differs from older versions that circulated online (which listed Alpha-GPC and Huperzine A). As of this writing, the official supplement facts list these 12 active ingredients in a two-capsule serving: Lutemax 2020 (lutein/zeaxanthin blend), Bacopa monnieri 12:1 standardized to 20% bacosides (250 mg), L-tyrosine (250 mg), VitaCholine choline (250 mg), L-theanine (100 mg), Panax ginseng concentrate (20 mg), resveratrol 99% (14.3 mg), pterostilbene (140 mcg), plus vitamins B1 (1.1 mg), B7/biotin (50 mcg), B12 (2.5 mcg), and cat's claw extract. Because the doses are individually disclosed rather than hidden in a "proprietary blend," NooCube is more transparent than many competitors — a genuine point in its favor.

How is NooCube supposed to work?

There is no single mechanism. NooCube is a "stacking" formula, combining ingredients that act through different pathways and hoping the sum is useful:

  • Cholinergic support. Choline (as VitaCholine) is a precursor your body uses to make acetylcholine, a neurotransmitter central to attention and memory (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements). The idea is that more raw material may support cholinergic signaling.
  • Adaptogenic / stress-buffering. L-theanine (an amino acid from tea), L-tyrosine (a precursor to dopamine and norepinephrine), and Panax ginseng are included to blunt the cognitive cost of stress and fatigue.
  • Neuroprotective / anti-inflammatory. Bacopa monnieri, resveratrol, pterostilbene, and the lutein/zeaxanthin carotenoids are antioxidants studied for effects on neuroinflammation and brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF).
  • Cofactor support. B vitamins act as cofactors in neurotransmitter synthesis and energy metabolism.

Importantly, this is a chronic-use formula, not a stimulant. There's no caffeine, so it won't produce the immediate alertness of a coffee or an energy drink. Several of its headline ingredients (notably Bacopa) only show measurable cognitive effects after 8–12 weeks of daily use, so anyone expecting a same-day "limitless" feeling is misreading the category.

What's actually in it, and what does the evidence say?

Here's the honest, ingredient-by-ingredient picture — including where NooCube's dose falls short of the studied dose.

Bacopa monnieri (250 mg, 20% bacosides)

This is the most evidence-backed ingredient in the formula. A meta-analysis of nine randomized, placebo-controlled trials in 518 subjects concluded Bacopa has the potential to improve cognition, with the most consistent signal being improved speed of attention (PMID 24252493). Multiple trials show benefits to memory and word recall after roughly 12 weeks of daily use (e.g., PMID 18611150). The catch: most positive trials used 300–450 mg/day of standardized extract; NooCube provides 250 mg. It's in the same neighborhood, but at the low end, and the benefit is delayed — not acute.

Lutemax 2020 (lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin)

These macular carotenoids are best known for eye health, but a small randomized, double-masked, placebo-controlled trial in 59 young healthy adults (aged 18–25), published in *Physiology & Behavior* in 2019, reported that 13 mg and 27 mg/day were associated with improvements in composite and verbal memory, psychomotor and processing speed, and sustained attention versus placebo over six months, alongside increases in serum BDNF (PMID 31425700). This is a legitimately interesting result. The honest caveat: it's a single, small, industry-linked study, and NooCube doesn't publicly specify the carotenoid milligrams in its blend, so we can't confirm it matches the studied dose.

Choline / VitaCholine (250 mg)

Choline is an essential nutrient and acetylcholine precursor (NIH). The strongest cognitive evidence in this space is actually for *citicoline* (CDP-choline) — a Cognizin-branded trial found improvements in sustained attention and processing speed in healthy adults over 12 weeks. NooCube uses choline bitartrate (VitaCholine), which is a different, less-studied form for cognition. So while choline is biologically sound, the direct human cognitive evidence for this specific form is thinner than the marketing implies.

L-theanine (100 mg)

L-theanine's most reliable cognitive effect appears when it's paired with caffeine — a combination shown to improve alertness and attention-switching in acute trials, though much of that benefit is attributable to the caffeine. A 2024 systematic review and meta-analysis described L-theanine's solo cognitive effects as "promising but not completely conclusive." NooCube contains no caffeine, which removes the best-supported synergy. On its own, 100 mg may modestly support relaxed focus and take the edge off the tyrosine/ginseng stimulation, but don't expect a standout effect.

L-tyrosine (250 mg)

Tyrosine is a precursor to dopamine and norepinephrine. The evidence is fairly specific: it helps preserve working memory and cognitive flexibility *under acute stress* — sleep deprivation, cold, multitasking, time pressure — rather than improving baseline cognition in rested people (review: PMID 26424423). Studied doses are typically far higher (often 100–150 mg/kg, i.e., grams), so 250 mg is a small fraction of what trials used. Useful concept, modest dose.

Panax ginseng (20 mg)

This is the formula's weakest link, evidentially. A Cochrane systematic review concluded there is "no convincing evidence" that Panax ginseng enhances cognition in healthy people, and no high-quality evidence for dementia (Cochrane, CD007769). Some newer meta-analyses report scattered positive signals, but heterogeneity is high. At 20 mg of a concentrate, the dose is also very low relative to typical ginseng research (often 200–400 mg).

Resveratrol (14.3 mg) and pterostilbene (140 mcg)

Both are polyphenol antioxidants. Resveratrol trials in older adults are genuinely mixed: some show improved memory and hippocampal connectivity, others (a 90-day pilot at 1,000 mg/day) found benefit only to psychomotor speed (PMID 29583015). The decisive issue here is dose — cognitive resveratrol studies use 150–1,000+ mg/day, while NooCube provides 14.3 mg. Pterostilbene at 140 *micrograms* is effectively a trace amount with no meaningful human cognitive evidence at that level. These are likely present more for marketing breadth than for a real effect.

B vitamins and cat's claw

B1, B7, and B12 are at modest, roughly RDA-level doses; they matter if you're deficient, but supplementing them rarely sharpens cognition in already-replete adults. Cat's claw (Uncaria tomentosa) is an antioxidant herb with preclinical neuroprotective interest but little human cognitive-outcome data.

Does NooCube actually work?

There are no published, peer-reviewed, placebo-controlled clinical trials on the finished NooCube product itself. That's the single most important fact for evaluating it. Every efficacy claim rests on extrapolating from studies of *individual* ingredients — often conducted at higher doses, in different populations, or with different chemical forms than what's in the bottle.

Reading the evidence honestly: Bacopa and the Lutemax carotenoids give the formula a plausible, evidence-anchored core for memory and attention over a multi-week timeframe. L-theanine and L-tyrosine offer modest, situational support, mainly under stress. The remaining ingredients (ginseng, resveratrol, pterostilbene, cat's claw, B vitamins) are either underdosed, weakly supported for cognition, or both. The likely real-world result is a subtle improvement in focus and recall for some users after consistent daily use — not a transformative one, and not something that would beat a placebo in every person. Individual response to nootropics varies widely.

Who is NooCube best for — and who should skip it?

It may suit you if you want a stimulant-free, transparently dosed daily nootropic; you're willing to take it consistently for 8–12 weeks to give the Bacopa and carotenoids time to work; and you have realistic expectations of a mild edge rather than a dramatic one. It's also a reasonable pick for people who react badly to caffeine.

Skip it if you're pregnant or breastfeeding; you take prescription medications — especially anticoagulants/antiplatelets (ginseng and resveratrol can affect bleeding risk), antidiabetic drugs (ginseng may affect blood sugar), thyroid medication, MAO inhibitors, or stimulants (tyrosine interactions); you have a thyroid disorder or melanoma history (tyrosine caution); or you simply want an acute, same-day focus boost (this isn't that). Children should not take it.

Side effects and safety

NooCube's ingredients are generally well tolerated at these doses, and the stimulant-free design avoids the jitteriness, crashes, and sleep disruption common with caffeine-based focus products. Reported issues are usually mild: Bacopa can cause GI upset, nausea, or cramping, especially on an empty stomach; ginseng and tyrosine can cause headache or restlessness in sensitive users. Always discuss any new supplement with a clinician if you take medication or have a chronic condition — supplement–drug interactions are real and under-appreciated (NIH). And because supplement manufacturing quality varies, third-party testing (e.g., NSF, USP) is a meaningful trust signal; NooCube does not prominently advertise independent certification, which is a gap.

How to take it, cost, and value

The label directs two capsules in the morning with water; some users split to one morning, one early afternoon to avoid any evening alertness. Give it 4–12 weeks of daily, consistent use before judging — the Bacopa and carotenoid effects are cumulative.

On price (from the official site at writing): a single 60-capsule bottle (one month) is $64.99, a 3-month supply is $129.99 (about $43/month), and a 5-month supply is $194.99 (about $39/month), with a roughly 15% subscribe-and-save discount. That places NooCube at the premium end of the nootropic market. The value question is genuinely debatable: you're paying a premium price for several ingredients that are underdosed versus their supporting research. Buyers chasing value can often replicate the evidence-backed core — Bacopa and a carotenoid/citicoline supplement — for less by buying single ingredients.

How does NooCube compare to alternatives?

Against Mind Lab Pro, NooCube is similarly stimulant-free and transparent but Mind Lab Pro uses the better-studied citicoline (Cognizin) form of choline. Against Onnit Alpha Brain, NooCube avoids Alpha Brain's proprietary-blend opacity (Alpha Brain does, however, have two small company-funded RCTs on the finished product — more than NooCube has). The cheapest evidence-based route is often a standalone Bacopa monnieri product at 300 mg standardized extract, which captures the formula's strongest single ingredient for a fraction of the cost. There's no clear "winner" — the category as a whole is built on modest, mixed evidence.

The bottom line

NooCube is one of the more honest, well-constructed nootropic stacks on the market: caffeine-free, transparently dosed, and anchored by two ingredients (Bacopa monnieri and Lutemax carotenoids) with real human evidence for memory and attention. But it is not a proven product — there are no clinical trials on the finished formula, several ingredients are dosed below their studied levels or weakly supported for cognition, and the price is premium. Treat it as a reasonable, low-risk experiment for someone seeking a mild, stimulant-free cognitive edge over weeks of consistent use — not as a guaranteed or dramatic brain booster. If budget matters, the same evidence-backed benefit can likely be had more cheaply by buying its strongest ingredients individually, and anyone on medication should clear it with a clinician first.

How it works

NooCube leans on a familiar cholinergic-and-adaptogen approach. Alpha-GPC supplies choline for acetylcholine, Bacopa monnieri is studied for memory consolidation over weeks, and L-tyrosine and L-theanine act as amino-acid precursors that support focus and calm. The patented Lutemax 2020 adds lutein and zeaxanthin, carotenoids researched for eye and brain processing speed, while Cat's Claw and Oat Straw round out the antioxidant and circulatory support.

Active ingredient: Bacopa monnieri 250mg, Alpha-GPC, L-tyrosine, L-theanine, Cat's Claw, Oat Straw, Lutemax 2020 (lutein/zeaxanthin), Panax Ginseng, B-vitamin complex

Effectiveness

Component evidence is the foundation here. Bacopa at 250mg aligns with doses used in trials showing attention-speed and memory benefits over 12 weeks, and L-theanine has consistent attention data, especially paired with caffeine (though NooCube itself is caffeine-free). Lutemax 2020 has industry studies on processing speed. There is no published trial on the complete NooCube formula, and some ingredient doses are not disclosed, so judge it on the ingredients rather than the brand's claims.

What to expect over time

A realistic timeline of what NooCube Brain Productivity users typically experience. Individual results vary; this is educational, not medical advice.

  1. Day 1-3

    L-theanine and Alpha-GPC may produce a subtle, calm focus; many people feel little acutely at first, which is expected.

  2. Week 1-2

    Daily focus effects, if present, settle in; any mild headache or digestive adjustment usually shows up and passes during this window.

  3. Week 4-8

    Bacopa's memory benefits build with consistent use, so this is the realistic period to judge effects on recall and clarity.

  4. Day 60

    The guarantee deadline is a natural decision point: if you have noticed no benefit after consistent use, request a refund. Individual results vary.

Side effects

NooCube is generally well tolerated given its caffeine-free, familiar-ingredient formula. The occasional reports are mild headache, some digestive discomfort, or restlessness in sensitive users. Take it with food in the morning, and use the 60-day guarantee window to stop if anything feels off.

  • Mild headache · uncommon
  • Digestive discomfort · uncommon
  • Restlessness in sensitive users · uncommon

Cost

Starts at $64.99 from NooCube.

Price stablesince we started tracking

As of May 2026, a single bottle is $64.99 (30 servings) versus a $79.99 list price on noocube.com. The 3-month bundle is $129.99 (about $43.33 per bottle) and the 5-month bundle is $194.99 (about $38.99 per bottle), with an extra 15% off through subscription. All orders carry a 60-day money-back guarantee.

As of May 2026, $64.99 for a single bottle (60 capsules / 30 servings) on noocube.com versus a $79.99 list price. Bundles drop the per-bottle cost: 3-month supply $129.99 (~$43.33/bottle) and 5-month supply $194.99 (~$38.99/bottle), with an extra 15% off via subscription. 60-day money-back guarantee.

Prices current as of May 30, 2026 and exclude promo codes; cash-pay and channel pricing change frequently — confirm with the pharmacy or provider.

Is it worth it?

Between bundle discounts that bring it under $40 a bottle and a genuine 60-day refund window, NooCube is the lowest-risk way to find out whether a daily nootropic does anything for you. It is not the most transparent or most studied, but it is the easiest on the wallet.

Frequently asked questions

Does NooCube contain caffeine?

No, it is caffeine-free, so it will not cause jitters or interfere with sleep and can be combined with your usual coffee.

What is the money-back guarantee?

NooCube offers a 60-day money-back guarantee, which is unusually long for the category and lets you trial it for weeks at low financial risk.

Are all the ingredient doses listed?

Key actives like Bacopa monnieri (250mg) are disclosed, but NooCube does not publish a milligram amount for every ingredient, so the total active potency is partly unknown.

Where can I buy it?

Almost exclusively from the official noocube.com site, where the bundle and subscription discounts live. Third-party retail availability is limited.

Sources

  1. NooCube Brain Productivity (official site with ingredients and pricing) — NooCube (2026)
  2. Meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials on cognitive effects of Bacopa monnieri extract — Journal of Ethnopharmacology (2014)
  3. Does Bacopa monnieri improve memory performance in older persons? A randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind trial — Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine (2010)
  4. l-Theanine and caffeine improve target-specific attention by decreasing mind wandering (fMRI study) — Nutritional Neuroscience (2019)

Ready to try NooCube Brain Productivity?

Check price — from $64.99
  • No prescription required

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never changes our rankings or score. Disclosure

How NooCube Brain Productivity compares

Same-category options, scored on the same six-axis rubric. Higher is better.

MMind Lab Pro v4Over-the-counter7.4/10Read →
OOnnit Alpha BrainOver-the-counter7.3/10Read →
TThesisOver-the-counter7.1/10Read →
NNooCube Brain Productivitythis reviewOver-the-counter6.6/10—
QQualia MindOver-the-counter6.3/10Read →
Was this useful?

Keep researching

See all NooCube products